Available for a limited time only - £10 off a £20 spend at eXpansys! For more details visit this topic!

Please Log In or Register - it's FREE!

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Closed TopicStart new topic
 Is this website a scam?
WearTheFoxHat
post Sep 12 2008, 10:26
Post #21


TOMnia !
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 1,061
Joined: 26th November 2007
From: Right Here, Right Now!
Member No.: 326,361

Device(s): Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia



QUOTE(tsutton @ Sep 11 2008, 14:33) *
baymobile.co.uk is gone.

Richard.Hughes - contact your bank and get your money back QUICKLY! (assuming you paid by credit card)


Might have something to do with me telling their hosting company that it was a scam site!


--------------------
--
My Toys:
Omnia:
Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia - 8GB SD HC
O-SeXy Advent 4211 - 2GB Ram - 250GB HDD - Running OSX Leopard like a dream!
Doris She has bewbs! (Not her real name tho!)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WearTheFoxHat
post Sep 12 2008, 10:29
Post #22


TOMnia !
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 1,061
Joined: 26th November 2007
From: Right Here, Right Now!
Member No.: 326,361

Device(s): Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia



QUOTE(awarner (MVP) @ Sep 11 2008, 17:30) *
That's what normally happens, after they recieve a few emails they normally shut shop very quickly.

That site was one of the worst mock sites I've seen. About two years ago I fell for a similar scam (but a well laid out site) for a nintendo Wii, unfortunately it's easy to get duped in a moment of weakness.
I believe trading standards closed the site I was caught by, but they were not that helpful as the site gave a Brighton address but the bank account was in north London.

From experience contact the police and your bank, get them to try and reclaim the money. They can also give you details regarding the account holder and bank used. The internet provider will claim no knowledge and just say they were asked to make a site for somone.
Unfortunately anyone caught out will be extremely lucky to get any money back as normally payment is via a bank transfer and the company normally withdraw and close the account as soon as they get some money.

lets hope not too many people got conned.


I guess the lesson to be learnt is:

If something sounds to good to be true ... then it usually is.

Always buy from a reputable company that has been trading a while. Such as Play, Clove, Expansys etc.

I almost bought my 46" Bravia from a company that was a good 400 quid cheaper than any other company and spent hours investigating them ... decided against it in the end.


--------------------
--
My Toys:
Omnia:
Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia - 8GB SD HC
O-SeXy Advent 4211 - 2GB Ram - 250GB HDD - Running OSX Leopard like a dream!
Doris She has bewbs! (Not her real name tho!)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Richard.Hughes
post Sep 13 2008, 11:01
Post #23


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 4
Joined: 11th September 2008
Member No.: 425,261



I really don`t know as they said the package is on its way. I`ll keep you posted with what will happen next. I ordered the old iphones, not the 3g models, thought I`d go for the cheap ones, see if they`re good for it and then order the newly released models. Hope a package will turn up on monday.
Cheers,
Richard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcwarre
post Sep 13 2008, 20:52
Post #24


I've always wanted to explore the Pacific rim
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 2,323
Joined: 19th January 2003
From: Lincoln
Member No.: 2,100

Device(s): MWg Atom, i-mate Smartflip



QUOTE(Richard.Hughes @ Sep 13 2008, 12:01) *
Hope a package will turn up on monday.
Cheers,
Richard



Richard,

Good luck. But I feel that you have two hopes. The first is Bob, the second is no sad.gif


--------------------
"Success is not to be measured by the position someone has reached in life, but the obstacles he has overcome while trying to succeed."

Booker T. Washington
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Richard.Hughes
post Sep 15 2008, 11:18
Post #25


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 4
Joined: 11th September 2008
Member No.: 425,261



Hey,
It`s monday now so I`m still hanging on. They said it will arrive today and I am very nervous, going to the post office and back, figure I am getting scammed. sad.gif Hope something will arrive in the mail.

Cheers
Richard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WearTheFoxHat
post Sep 15 2008, 14:42
Post #26


TOMnia !
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 1,061
Joined: 26th November 2007
From: Right Here, Right Now!
Member No.: 326,361

Device(s): Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia



Personally Id have called my credit card company by now and warned them about it.


--------------------
--
My Toys:
Omnia:
Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia - 8GB SD HC
O-SeXy Advent 4211 - 2GB Ram - 250GB HDD - Running OSX Leopard like a dream!
Doris She has bewbs! (Not her real name tho!)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mwright
post Sep 15 2008, 15:01
Post #27


Enthusiast
Group Icon

Group: MoDaCo Ad Free
Posts: 270
Joined: 11th January 2006
From: North Essex
Member No.: 167,028

Device(s): Orange TyTNII



QUOTE(Paul (MVP) @ Sep 11 2008, 09:34) *
Clearly lots of money to be made in scamming...

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&hl=e...mp;t=h&z=19

P


Yeah - wow - what a place to live!

(heads off to find "Scamming 101" course somewhere!)


--------------------

Support community cinema.
Visit the Electric Palace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Boinng
post Sep 15 2008, 15:32
Post #28


Regular
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 123
Joined: 18th October 2007
Member No.: 312,408

Device(s): Vodafone V1615 (Tytn II)



Call me suspicious, but is anyone else half-expecting "Richard Hughes" to get his package, and then start singing the praises of this marvellous company (and their new website at http://www.blah blah...)?

I didn't even see the 2G Iphone anywhere on the previous site. Again, call me suspicious.


This post has been edited by Boinng: Sep 15 2008, 15:34
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Metoo
post Sep 15 2008, 16:08
Post #29


Diehard
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 424
Joined: 18th August 2004
Member No.: 53,335



QUOTE(WearTheFoxHat @ Sep 12 2008, 11:26) *
Might have something to do with me telling their hosting company that it was a scam site!


Site is still up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paul (MVP)
post Sep 15 2008, 16:19
Post #30


The Main Man
Group Icon

Group: Admin Team
Posts: 21,241
Joined: 6th November 2002
From: Norwich, UK
Member No.: 1

Device(s): HTC Touch HD



Boinng... had that same thought... wink.gif

P


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mcwarre
post Sep 15 2008, 17:08
Post #31


I've always wanted to explore the Pacific rim
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 2,323
Joined: 19th January 2003
From: Lincoln
Member No.: 2,100

Device(s): MWg Atom, i-mate Smartflip



If Richard Hughes gets his then I am definately going to buy from them.

In fact I am that confident I will remortgage my house to get lots of money to buy these. Then I will sell them on eBay at a profit but only to people in Nigeria........ tongue.gif tongue.gif


--------------------
"Success is not to be measured by the position someone has reached in life, but the obstacles he has overcome while trying to succeed."

Booker T. Washington
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WearTheFoxHat
post Sep 15 2008, 17:24
Post #32


TOMnia !
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 1,061
Joined: 26th November 2007
From: Right Here, Right Now!
Member No.: 326,361

Device(s): Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia



How strange the site is back!


--------------------
--
My Toys:
Omnia:
Samsung SGH-i900 Omnia - 8GB SD HC
O-SeXy Advent 4211 - 2GB Ram - 250GB HDD - Running OSX Leopard like a dream!
Doris She has bewbs! (Not her real name tho!)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Metoo
post Sep 15 2008, 17:34
Post #33


Diehard
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 424
Joined: 18th August 2004
Member No.: 53,335



QUOTE(mcwarre @ Sep 15 2008, 18:08) *
If Richard Hughes gets his then I am definately going to buy from them.

In fact I am that confident I will remortgage my house to get lots of money to buy these. Then I will sell them on eBay at a profit but only to people in Nigeria........ tongue.gif tongue.gif


Don't forget the extra $$$ you'll be asked to pay when the consignment gets "stuck" at customs or needs a "warehouse release fee".

No Registered Company number displayed either, which is a legal requirement for eCommerce websites in the UK.


This post has been edited by Metoo: Sep 15 2008, 17:49
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
launchme
post Sep 15 2008, 17:37
Post #34


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Posters
Posts: 1
Joined: 13th September 2008
Member No.: 425,883



QUOTE(mcwarre @ Sep 15 2008, 17:08) *
If Richard Hughes gets his then I am definately going to buy from them.

In fact I am that confident I will remortgage my house to get lots of money to buy these. Then I will sell them on eBay at a profit but only to people in Nigeria........ tongue.gif tongue.gif


You do that my friend and you will get burned real bad, the chances of finding a real nigerian business are a billion to one. Heck you could play the lottery and have better chances. The way I see it, these guys have delivered my goods late today, after being paid for 2 weeks earlier. I would not suggest purchasing from them as they charge a lot for delivery and take 2 weeks to deliver. Annoying excuses for it being the weekend and that the courier wasn`t delivering on weekends, even paid an extra 20 pounds fee for delivering the goods. Damn cheapskates, I was lucky enough to receive the goods.
see ya
Vic Shepperd

today's another day to find you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fabrice-